Why Kids Should Pursue Collecting Stamps of India

Gone are the days when people used to reach out to each other through letters. Even before letters, pigeons were used to deliver messages. Runners used to carry messages and travel for long distances just to convey an important message. Even during war times, messengers contributed immensely to disclose certain secrets to concerned people. The first ever letter that was delivered with a stamp was the penny black in England. Today with the advent of technology letters have almost become extinct. For a collector of stamps of India like me, the times are not that exciting really.

I started collecting Indian stamps when I was in the 2nd standard I suppose and since then there has been no looking back. I started off collecting all kinds of stamps of India. Then I started interacting with my classmates who had their own collection. I started exchanging extra stamps of the same type for other Indian stamps. Many a times, I had to exchange more than 1 stamp for adding a special one in my collection. Nevertheless, I never stopped! There is something about stamp collecting that keeps me excited.

When I look at kids today whiling away their time on the internet and social media websites, I sometimes curse technology for taking away the charm of this lovely hobby. I don’t want to complain about technology when it is used to make the world smaller and keep everyone connected. But No matter what, I will keep looking for expanding my collection of Indian stamps, because it takes me back to my childhood days. I try my best to encourage my own kids to pursue collecting stamps of India more seriously. I believe that it definitely helps in improving general knowledge. Once you own a stamp, you want to know everything about it. So you invariably start doing your own little research.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Truth Troubles: Why people hate the truths' of the real world

Thoughts from an old American Christian man about our world

History Of India

History of Coins, Stamps, Notes & Rulers of India

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

