A French Pen Friend with a Better Collection of Indian Stamps!

Be it stamps of India or stamps of the world; you should definitely start collecting them. There are many untold stories that are hidden in these Indian stamps. Many of them mark important events in history while others celebrate important personalities. Many of us relate Indian stamps to just Gandhi stamps. Yes, there are many Gandhi stamps that were issued and are being issued, but apart from that, there are many stamps of India of various interesting themes that will blow your mind.

stamps-of-india-12

Initially I was crazy about foreign stamps but then through my hobby made many pen friends. One was from France. He was of my age and I don’t want to reveal his name. So, this French pen friend was so much in love with Indian stamps that I was surprised quite a lot. After talking to him, I got to know that he had been on a vacation in India and was totally fascinated by our country. When I asked him, what aspect about India he likes the most, he replied that he was amused how so many cultures prospered in a single country in harmony. He went back and started reading about India, its history and culture. Since he was already a stamp collector, it was natural for him to start collecting stamps of India. Though I never got a chance to look at his collection personally, He shared some pictures and I was awestruck really! He had a more impressive collection of stamps of India than mine. I used to boast about my own collection within my friend circle, I thought I was a decent stamp collector with some British India stamps, stamps from 1970s etc. But it turned out that I was less than an average collector after looking at his beautiful collection.

I realised that quantity is not all that one should look at as a collector. You should be keen to collect some unique stamps of India as well.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Truth Troubles

Why people hate the truths of the world.

History Of India

History of Coins, Stamps, Notes & Rulers of India

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

