Collecting Old Indian Coins Helps me stay closer to my roots

People living in the modern world have lost that connect with their roots. You cannot really blame anyone for that. Technology has engulfed one and all and people are keen on making their future secure. There are many who believe in the concept of living in the moment. Social media websites have actually made the young generation less curious. Most of them are whiling away their time doing things that will not add value to their lives. Does anybody care about history at all, in this day and age? It is very sad to find out that many are not at all concerned about history. But I, for some reason love history, probably because I believe that where we are today is because of what happened in the past. There is a lot to learn from history so that we do not make the same kind of mistakes again.

old-india-coins-gupta-empire

So when did I realise all this? It was when I was in my 7th Standard when my grandfather gave me an old coin of India. It was a silver coin that was issued by the Mughal emperor Akbar. I was amused and wanted to know more about the coin. My grandfather started explaining about all the other old Indian coins that he had in his collection. That was when I started researching about Indian old coins almost on a daily basis. The best part about learning history through the study of old Indian coins is that you have sound evidence about when the coin was struck and who issued the same on most occasions. Then I got to know that coin collecting is a hobby and started following it passionately. Though my collection of Indian old coins is nothing to boast about, I am proud of it nevertheless. I am sure that there are bigger collectors out there with better collections. I don’t really want to be the best out there. Many collect old Indian coins as an investment since they have a good appreciation value. But I am definitely not one of them. I collect Indian old coins because I like to know more about out vast history.

So I tell this to every young kid that I meet, Instead of wasting your time on social media, you might as well indulge in a hobby that keeps you closer to your roots!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Truth Troubles

Why people hate the truths of the world.

History Of India

History of Coins, Stamps, Notes & Rulers of India

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

