Uniting My Passion for Collecting Stamps of India and my Love for Birds

Someone asked me what do you do in your free time? I said, I collect stamps, Indian stamps! He laughed at me and went away. I wonder what is so funny about collecting stamps. At least it is better than whiling away your time on facebook. I have no complaints actually, collecting stamps of India helps me stay happy, I have not yet found out the exact reason behind this, but there is nothing that will stop me from doing the same.

indian-stamps

There are some pleasant childhoods memories of mine which make me want to pursue this hobby even today when I am 40 years old. I am married and have a son too; even then I make it a point to indulge in this hobby. It all started when my dad used to get some letters from his office. All of them came in from different countries. He used to work on the international clients section. Back in those days, letters were being sent to and fro even for official purposes. I used to take those envelopes, tear off the section with a stamp and then soak the piece of paper in water. I started with a small file, where I used to place all the stamps. Slowly as the collection started growing, I started segregating them into different sections based on themes. Another thing I liked to do a lot is bird watching. My dad used to take me to sanctuaries, early in the morning with binoculars. We used to look at birds for hours. Because, I started falling in love with birds, I also started collecting stamps featuring birds. Later on I realised that there are many Indian stamps that have depicted different kinds of birds on them. One collection of stamps of India show migratory birds on them.

It is the same thing that I tell all my friends every now and then. You might be someone who has interest in sports, history or any other subject for that matter, the beauty of collecting stamps is that you can stay close to what you like by following a particular theme!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Truth Troubles

Why people hate the truths of the world.

History Of India

History of Coins, Stamps, Notes & Rulers of India

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

