How I went about Learning History of Madras Presidency

There are certain aspects about British India History that very few of us are aware about, for example Madras Presidency history. Who wants to learn about these interesting facts about our rich history when we are busy engaging ourselves in other forms of entertainment! Many would debate that all this is a part of an evolution. But I believe that evolution should happen for the better and not the worse. The influence of western culture has been intimidating at times and I think that this influence should not come at the cost of losing our own values or traditions. Yes, human beings are always looking for a change and with the advent of technology, adapting to a new culture becomes extremely easy. If people of our generation don’t take the efforts to revive these cultures, going forward we might lose them in the name of evolution. Hence, it is very important for each one of us to keep understanding our history including History of Madras Presidency in depth. Why am I stressing on Madras Presidency? Because I belong to Chennai and being an Indian I felt the need to learn about it.

madras_presidency

The very first thing that I did when I realised that I should know the historical roots of my city was that I hit the internet. There are many websites that explain various facts about history of Madras Presidency but I was not sure if they were all coming from a relevant source. Then I spoke to a friend of mine who was always interested in history. He suggested that it is always better to look for reliable books when it comes to learning history. He took a few names and I jotted it down immediately. Then I hit the library and checked out some informative books that explained various events that took place in Madras Presidency. I also learned that many Madras Presidency Notes were released during the British regime. Slowly and steadily I upgraded my knowledge about history behind the place I live now. I plan to continue this exercise with other cities of our country as well.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Truth Troubles

Why people hate the truths of the world.

History Of India

History of Coins, Stamps, Notes & Rulers of India

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

