History of Marathas: My Experience of working on a College Project

Different historians have different perceptions and assumptions. Today, when the web world has literally exploded, trying to find an authentic source of information becomes a nightmare sometimes. The other day I was given an assignment in college to do some research about Maratha history. The first thing that all of us do, is hit the search engines. I spent almost three hours browsing through several links that had information about History of Marathas. Many of them had different versions of Maratha history. I had no idea which site to believe in. I somehow tried compiling a few facts from various sites and prepared the required presentation on history of Marathas. I had to present the very next day and was extremely nervous as well. I couldn’t sleep that night. In fact I had a horrible dream of my teacher making fun of me in front of a class filled with more than hundred students.

Maratha Empire

Finally the day arrived; I knew there was no escaping. So I went up there on the podium and started presenting whatever I found on the internet. To my surprise all the students were keenly listening to me. My teacher was silent as well. I wondered, there could be just two possibilities. Either my presentation on history of Marathas was absolutely perfect or nobody understood what I was talking about.  The presentation was complete. There was an awkward silence for a few seconds. Thankfully, everyone started clapping after those anxious moments, except my teacher. I knew I had got some facts wrong. He came up to me and said,”Well done, but you need to go back and check some facts”. He then suggested referring a few good books on Maratha history that were written by famous historians. I was glad that he did not completely reject by presentation. Some fact-checking was required for which I referred to the books on history of Marathas that he had suggested. I went back home and reworked on the presentation again.

It was all over and after the entire incident, I realised that when you are doing some serious research on historical facts, you should rely on good books, authoritative website resources, etc. written by well-known historians.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Truth Troubles

Why people hate the truths of the world.

History Of India

History of Coins, Stamps, Notes & Rulers of India

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

